Better check all your trashed files, as Google announced a new clean-up policy that Trash Items will be automatically deleted on Google Drive for G Suite users. This means all files that were moved to Trash will be permanently wiped out after 30 days. This policy will take on effect by October 13, 2020.
Under this new policy, Google also detailed other changes, which are as follows:
- Admins can still restore items deleted from a user’s trash for up to 25 days for active users.
- Retention policies set by admins in Google Vault are not affected by this change unless they become obsolete as they are now redundant.
- These changes affect items that are trashed from any device and any platform.
- Files deleted via Drive File Stream will be purged from the system trash after 30 days. There is no impact on Backup and Sync behavior.
- Files in shared drives trash are already automatically deleted after 30 days.
- Items in the trash will still continue to consume quota.
Of course, G Suite users who are behind the updates will be informed, in which Google will put up a banner to announce the following changes as the policy becomes effective and that they will be notified in Google Drive.