Google announced that it would be changing its privacy settings to store less data on new users.
Starting Wednesday, Google will automatically and continuously delete web and app activity, as well as location history for new users for the whole 18 months.
Settings won’t affect existing users, but Google will alert notifications about the said feature.
The call privacy settings change was after the company added new controls in 2019 that enable users to put an expiry date on their data effectively. Users have the option to auto-delete location history, search, voice, and even YouTube activity data after three or 18 months.
On a related note, users will also receive better user-friendly access to their controls when searching on Google. If users signed in to their Google accounts and search for terms like “Google Privacy Checkup,” they will see a box only visible to them with their privacy and security settings.